Supply Chain Management Association

SCMA logo

Supply chain management is a fast growing industry and is a key process in many industries. Many professionals find that they are managing large dollar amounts and are provided a wide margin of autonomy throughout their career. Those holding the SCMP designation are in high demand as effective management is a strategic function to all major industries. The Supply Chain Management program is internationally accredited and certifies successful candidates who have the highest level of professional competence. The procurement industry can be difficult to navigate and those with a designation advance in their careers faster with greater opportunities for advancement.


Salary Increase
Those holding a SCMP designation average a 12% salary increase. This designation also provides an excellent opportunity to enter the field of supply chain management and procurement which traditionally has very few entry positions for those without prior experience. The Supply Chain Management Association conducts a full survey on SCMP salaries through PurchasingB2B.


Prerequisites  College PrerequisiteORUniversity PrerequisiteORProfessionalExperience Prerequisite
A degree or diploma at any accredited university, college or technical institute in Canada with a business major is required to enter the program. For those without the qualifying prerequisite, it is possible to obtain the required courses through a qualifying post-secondary institution or through SCMA educational courses.

Some candidates may have covered courses in their education that overlap with SCMP modules and may be eligible to apply for transfer credits subject to SCMA approval. Candidates with over 10 years of experience in the field may also be approved to bypass the prerequisites into the program.


The SCMP designation process is a formal path with courses and interactive workshops followed by a final exam and experience requirements.

SCMP Designation Path

1.    Completion of 8 modules

The 8 required modules cover core areas of strategic supply chain management, such as Logistics and Transportation, Global Sourcing, Knowledge Management, and Procurement and Supply Management, among others.

2.    Completion of 6 Interactive Workshops

These workshops build leadership, negotiation, and professional skills that are directly related to a career in Procurement and Supply Chain Management.

3.    Residence Week

Completion of the 1 week residency program which hosts a number of advanced modules and interactive workshops, and prepares candidates for the final examination.

4.    Final Examination

Successfully pass the final examination.

5.    Practical Experience

Completion of a minimum of 3 years of professional experience in a supply chain management position.


Get Started!

Maintaining Requirements
A Continuous Professional Development program is required to maintain the SCMA designation. Designation holders earn points by participating in professional development activities. These activities can vary geographically. All designation holders are required to earn a minimum of 30 points in every 3-year period.